The Spirit of Assisi National Award
The FCPD has instituted this award in collaboration with the International Franciscan Centre for Dialogue in Assisi (CEFID) in 1995. The purpose of the award is to give public recognition and encouragement to any person or institution in India who is contributing to any one of the following areas: peace, justice, safeguarding of creation, ecumenism, interreligious dialogue and the promotion and defense of human life. The person or institution chosen for the award will be given a Memento, Citation, An amount of Fifty Thousand Rupees. Since its institution the award has been conferred to 16 people.

Former recipients of the award

1 1995 MR. JACOB VADAKKENCHERRY. Presented by Sri. M.M. Jacob, Governor of Meghalaya
2 1996 MR. D. PANKAJAKSHA KURUP Presented by Dr. M.M. Thomas, former Governor of Nagaland and ex­presidnet of the World Council of Churches.
3 1997 HENRY MARTIN INSTITUTE OF ISLAMIC STUDIES (H.M.I) Presented by Most Rev. Fr. Agostino Gardin OFMConv., the 117th Minister General in succession to St. Francis of Assisi.
4 1998 MR. SARVODAYAM KURIAN Presented by Justice Om Prakash, Chief Justice of Kerala High Court
5 1999 MR. P.U. THOMAS Presented by Justice P.C. Balakrishnamenon, Lokayukta, Kerala.
6 2000 FR. ALBERT NAMBIAPARAMBIL Presented by Justice V.R. Krishna Iyer, former Judge of Supreme Court.
7 2001 Sri. D. RAMACHANDRAN POTTI Presented by Sri. A.K. Anthony, Chief Minister of Kerala.
8 2002 PRISON MINISTRY INDIA Presented by Justice K.T. Thomas, Rtd. Justice of the Supreme Court.
9 2003 Capuchin Social and Development Action Service Society (CAPS+DASS) Presented by Dr. K.J. Jesudas, a singer of international fame.
10 2004 MS. SUGATHAKUMARI Presented by Mar Jacob Thoomkuzhi, Archbishop of Thrissur Archdiocese
11 2005 MR. SANTHOSH JOSEPH: Presented by Sri. V. J. Kurian IAS.
12 2006 DR. K. MAHADEVAN and MRS. MEENAKSHI Presented by Justice Kurian Joseph, High Court of Kerala.
13 2008 MS.BEENA SEBASTIAN KOLUTHARA Presented by Prof. M.K.Sanu, Malayalam Critic and Writer.
14 2009 DAYABAYI Presented by Dr.Binayak Sen
15 2012 REV.FR.DAVIS CHIRAMEL Presented by Sri Oomen Chandi, Chief minister of Kerala
16 2014 MR. P.V. RAJAGOPAL Presented by Justice Kurian Joseph, Supreme Court.

Patrons of the award

His Eminence Cardinal George Alencherry
Major Archbishop of the Syro­Malabar Church
Most Rev. Fr. Marco Tasca,
Minister General, Order of Friars Minor Conventual

Award committee members

Mar.Thomas Chakkiyath, Auxiliary Bishop Emeritus of Ernakulam Angamaly Archdiocese, Chairman
V.Rev. Fr. Leo Payyappilly OFMConv., Minister Provincial
Mr.P.C Cyriac IAS, Former Additional Chief Secretary, Tamil Nadu.
Dr.K.S.Radhakrishnan, PSC Chairman
Mr. K. M Roy
Eminent Journalist and Chief Editor of Mangalam
Justice P. K. Shamsudhin
Fr.Angelo Chully OFMConv. Counsellor in charge of FCPD
Fr.Elias Thekkemundackappadavil OFMConv. Director FCPD